What is The Individuals and Households Program (IHP)

One of the most unfortunate things in life is losing your home to a natural disaster. You can never prepare yourself for such a horrible experience. Wanting to help out, FEMA aimed to offer families and individuals as much support as possible. This means that people surviving from a natural disaster get an opportunity to restart their lives and their homes. In order to apply this notion, FEMA designed the Individuals and Households Program (IHP). This article will tell you everything you need to know about the Individuals and Households Program.

What is the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) “Individuals and Households Program (IHP)”?

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) offers the Individuals and Households Program as a type of relief to households during a natural disaster. You will find that the Individuals and Households Program offers direct and financial relief to eligible individuals and families who are uninsured or underinsured, necessary costs and immediate needs that resulted from a disaster.

Individuals and Households Program relief does not replace insurance and does not provide coverage for damages from a disaster. The main purpose of the IHP is to support supplemental disaster recovery relief through providing coverage of your basic needs. Typically, FEMA provides assistance such as:

  • Rental assistance and temporary shelter
  • Replacing or repairing your home
  • Hazard mitigation
  • Providing funds other uninsured or underinsured costs and basic needs that comes from a disaster

What Type of Assistance Can You Receive From The Individuals and Households Program (IHP)?

1. Rental Assistance and Temporary Shelter

Financial relief could be accessible for qualifying survivors who need a place to stay for a temporary period of time. Survivors can stay in temporary shelters while they have their home fixed or until they find a permanent home. Additionally, FEMA offers temporary shelters for qualifying survivors from a disaster at hotels that participate in the program, if the Federal Government approves the disaster.

The IHP housing assistance option has eligibility requirements that you need to meet to qualify for the program. These eligibility requirements include the following:

  • You must be a survivor from a disaster and you can no longer live in your home, due to the damages from the disaster. Additionally, you need to agree to relocate and you find that your insurance policy does not cover your housing needs.
  • After a disaster takes place, you are residing in an emergency shelter location at the moment, since your home is uninhabitable from the disaster.
  • You do not have any alternative housing options within an appropriate commuting distance, because you have limited access to rental resources.

2. Repair or Replace Your Home

Qualifying survivors could get financial relief to perform basic repairs or replace their homes. This will ensure homeowners that they have a safe, clean, and operational housing unit to reside in. However, you can only qualify for this type of assistance, if you meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • FEMA will need to perform a home inspection and define whether your house is uninhabitable or not.
  • You do not have insurance or financial capabilities to provide coverage on repair expenses.

3. Hazard Mitigation

FEMA also offers mitigation support in Home Repair Assistance awards for disasters that were reported on or after May 2021. This is a part of FEMA’s dedication to provide assistance for local communities and help them become more resilient after a disaster. This type of assistance will allow qualifying homeowners that were negatively influenced by the Presidential Disaster Declarations to fix or replace their homes.

Additionally, homeowners that are eligible for the Individuals and Households Program can qualify for additional funds from FEMA for specific mitigation measures. If you are confirmed to qualify for Home Repair Assistance, then you will find additional funds in the award amount. You will find that some of the mitigation measures include:

  • Repairing roofs to prevent strong winds and help prevent water infiltration
  • Water heater or furnace elevation to prevent flood damage
  • Moving electrical panels to avoid possible flood damage

4. Other Types of Relief

Through the Individuals and Households Program, the FEMA offers financial relief for necessary costs and requirements that were a direct result from the disaster. These other types of relief include:

  • Child-care costs
  • Medical bills, including dental
  • Funeral and burial expenses
  • Damage to a vehicle that you need
  • Fuel for the primary heat source such as oil or gas
  • Damage to necessary domestic things such as furniture, appliances, clothing, necessary tools for work, and essential educational materials (computers, schoolbooks, etc.).
  • Appliances that you need to clean your home, such as vacuums or dehumidifiers
  • Costs of moving and storage of your household items to avoid more damage
  • Other costs or basic needs as FEMA determines

How to Apply for Individuals and Households Program (IHP)?

In order to be eligible for the Individuals and Households Program, you need to meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • You or a household member is a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national, or an eligible alien.
  • You need to pass the verification of FEMA’s identity and occupancy.
  • Your main residence is declared a disaster zone through the President, is uninhabitable, or inaccessible.
  • You do not have insurance or financial capabilities, or, if you have one, it does not cover all of the losses.
  • For Home Repair and Home Replacement Assistance, you must pass ownership verification.

Documents You May Need To Verify Your Identity

You need to make sure that you have the appropriate documents, in order to apply for the Individuals and Households Program. These documents include the following:

  • Documents from the Social Security Administration (SSA) or another federal agency that has your Social Security Number in full or the last four digits (SSN)
  • A record of your paycheck from your employer, including your Social Security Number in full or the last four digits
  • Identification of your military status
  • Your U.S. passport
  • A marriage license as proof of maiden name

The Final Verdict

When natural disasters take place, there are a lot of people who find themselves unprepared to deal with a tragedy. Even if you have an emergency fund, it would still be extremely helpful for you to apply for the FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program. It would make the world of a difference as it provides assistance on housing costs, in the case that your home faced damages from a disaster.

Previous articleNatural Disaster Assistance for Relief
Next articleCan 401(k)s be Garnished?